Five new inductees to the Hall of Fame of German football

The Hall of Fame of German football has inducted five more legends to its ranks following its opening back in April 2019. After an initial eleven players were inducted as the first batch of stars, an esteemed board of selectors has now named the next five to be honoured.

Oliver Kahn, Jürgen Klinsmann, Wolfgang Overath, Hans-Jürgen Dörner and trainer Helmut Schon have become the latest names to be added to the roll of honour.

“The bringing together of these football legends in one place has never happened before in such a way, and this constellation already makes the Hall of Fame unique” said Manuel Neukirchner, the director of the Football Museum at its inception in April.

Oliver Kahn becomes the second goalkeeper inducted after Sepp Maier. The fellow Bayern legend may not have won the World Cup with Germany, but he was the keeper during one of the Nationalmannschaft’s most dominant phases. He was capped 86 times, won the treble with Bayern in 2001, won seven Bundesliga titles as well as five DFB Pokals.

Embed from Getty Images

Jürgen Klinsmann had a huge impact as both a player and as a coach. A winner at the 1996 European Championships, he was capped 108 times and had a glittering career both inside and outside Germany (VfB Stuttgart, Bayern Munich, Tottenham, Inter, Sampdoria and Monaco). ‘Klinsi’ was then the Bundestrainer, who so very nearly completed the World Cup fairy tale on home soil in 2006.

1.FC Köln legend Wolfgang Overath was a controversial omission from the original draft of eleven players with Borussia Mönchengladbach’s Günter Netzer just pipping him. Overath does however make it this time with his contribution to both the 1972 European Championship and the 1974 World Cup taken into account. Back in the 1970’s the whole Netzer/ Overath debate was a thorny issue and it remains so today.

Embed from Getty Images

The former GDR sees it’s second player honoured with East German legend Hans-Jürgen Dörner the fourth new player inducted. The ‘Beckenbauer of the East’ played 100 times for the GDR national team and led them to their biggest success when they won gold at the Montreal Olympics in 1976. With Dynamo Dresden the libero was a five-time national league champion.

The ‘man in the hat’ Helmut Schon is the second trainer after Sepp Herberger to be named in the Hall of Fame. The Dresden-born coach oversaw 87 victories in his 139 internationals in charge and steered Germany to the 1972 European Championship as well as the 1974 World Cup managing to juggle some very demanding personalities and solving some very tricky selection headaches (Gerd Müller/ Uwe Seller, Wolfgang Overath/ Günter Netzer).

The Hall of Fame in full

Goalkeepers: Sepp Maier, Oliver Kahn

Defenders: Franz Beckenbauer, Andreas Brehme, Paul Breitner, Hans-Jürgen Dörner

Midfielders: Fritz Walter, Lothar Matthäus, Matthias Sammer, Günter Netzer, Wolfgang Overath

Strikers: Uwe Seeler, Gerd Müller, Helmut Rahn, Jürgen Klinsmann

Trainers: Sepp Herberger, Helmut Schon


The following two tabs change content below.

Mathew Burt

A year spent living in Bremen got Mathew hooked on the Bundesliga with regular visits to the Weser Stadion getting in the way of his studies. Back in the UK now, he still keenly follows the Grün-Weißen and German football in general. Follow him on Twitter @matburt74.

2 Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. Five new inductees to the Hall of Fame of German football -
  2. Five new inductees to the Hall of Fame of German football - Goal Wide

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.