Hrubesch names his squad for Rio

It’s been a difficult road for the DFB, but in the end U23 coach Horst Hrubesch has managed to put together a squad consisting of 18 players, with three of the players being above the age limit(as allowed by the rules). It comes as no surprise that the Bender twins and Nils Petersen are joining the squad in addition to a bunch of youngsters.

Despite a lot of trouble with clubs denying their players the chance to fight for an Olympic gold, Hrubesch has managed to put together a strong squad consisting of seasoned Bundesliga and Bundesliga 2 pros.

Players who are competing for CL and EL qualification with their clubs weren’t included in the squad. The biggest losses to the team in that regard are Hertha’s right back Mitchell Weiser and Borussia Monchengladbach’s Mahmoud Dahoud. Additionally none of the players who were nominated to Jogi Löw’s squad for the EUROs were allowed into the squad. That means that Hrubesch has to do without Leroy Sane and Julian Weigl.

Goal: Timo Horn (1. FC Köln), Jannik Huth (1. FSV Mainz 05).

Defence: Robert Bauer (FC Ingolstadt), Matthias Ginter (Borussia Dortmund), Lukas Klostermann (RB Leipzig), Philipp Max (FC Augsburg), Niklas Süle (TSG Hoffenheim), Jeremy Toljan (TSG Hoffenheim).

Midfield: Lars Bender (Bayer Leverkusen), Sven Bender (Borussia Dortmund), Julian Brandt (Bayer Leverkusen), Max Christiansen (FC Ingolstadt), Serge Gnabry (FC Arsenal), Leon Goretzka (FC Schalke 04), Max Meyer (FC Schalke 04), Grischa Prömel (Karlsruher SC).
Attack: Nils Petersen (SC Freiburg), Davie Selke (RB Leipzig).

On call: Leonardo Bittencourt (1. FC Köln), Christian Günter (SC Freiburg), Sebastian Kerk (SC Freiburg), Eric Oelschlägel (SV Werder Bremen II).

The following two tabs change content below.

Niklas Wildhagen

Niklas is a 32-year-old football writer and podcaster who has been following the Bundesliga and German football since the early 90s. You can follow him on Twitter, @normusings, and listen to his opinions on @TalkingFussball.