Draws for the Six Bundesliga Teams in European Knock-Out Stages

Following the conclusion of group stage play in the Champions League and Europa League tournaments last week, the draws for the knockout stages of each tournament were made Monday.

Two German clubs advanced in the Champions League.  VfL Wolfsburg will begin its knockout stage play February 17 away to Belgian side Gent, while Bayern Munich will also start their CL run away to last year’s CL finalist Juventus on February 23.

In the Europa League, Thomas Tuchel’s Borussia Dortmund will host FC Porto on February 18 while FC Augsburg, who advanced at the last moment against Partizan Belgrade will host Jurgen Klopp’s Liverpool side.  On the same Thursday Schalke 04 will travel for its match against FC Shahktar Donetsk while Bayer Leverkusen, who were one of the clubs who qualified for the Europa League tournament as a third-place Champions League squad, will start their EL adventure away to Sporting Clube de Portugal.


16 February & 9 March
Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) v Chelsea (ENG)
Benfica (POR) v Zenit (RUS)
17 February & 8 March
Gent (BEL) v Wolfsburg (GER)
Roma (ITA) v Real Madrid (ESP)
23 February & 16 March
Arsenal (ENG) v Barcelona (ESP)
Juventus (ITA) v Bayern München (GER)
24 February & 15 March
PSV Eindhoven (NED) v Atlético Madrid (ESP)
Dynamo Kyiv (UKR) v Manchester City (ENG)*



Round of 32 18-25 February 2016
1. Valencia CF (ESP) SK Rapid Wien (AUT) –
2. ACF Fiorentina (ITA) Tottenham Hotspur FC (ENG) –
3. Borussia Dortmund (GER) FC Porto (POR) –
4. Fenerbahçe SK (TUR) FC Lokomotiv Moskva (RUS) –
5. RSC Anderlecht (BEL) Olympiacos FC (GRE) –
6. FC Midtjylland (DEN) Manchester United FC (ENG) –
7. FC Augsburg (GER) Liverpool FC (ENG) –
8. AC Sparta Praha (CZE) FC Krasnodar (RUS) –
9. Galatasaray A.Ş. (TUR) S.S. Lazio (ITA) –
10. FC Sion (SUI) SC Braga (POR) –
11. FC Shakhtar Donetsk (UKR) FC Schalke 04 (GER) –
12. Olympique de Marseille (FRA) Athletic Club (ESP) –
13. Sevilla FC (ESP) Molde FK (NOR) –
14. Sporting Clube de Portugal (POR) Bayer 04 Leverkusen – (GER)
15. Villarreal CF (ESP) SSC Napoli (ITA) –
16. AS Saint-Étienne (FRA) FC Basel 1893 (SUI) –
1st leg -Thursday – 19.00 CET 18 February 2016

The following two tabs change content below.

Gerry Wittmann

Gerry is the founder of the Bundesliga Fanatic. Besides loving German football, he also enjoys the NBA, collecting jerseys and LPs, his pets and wishes he had more time for fishing, bicycling and learning the bass guitar.