Der Torschützenkönig: 2015/16’s Runners and Riders

The crowning of Eintracht Frankfurt’s Alexander Meier as the leading goal scorer in the Bundesliga last season came as a surprise to many- especially when you consider that die Adler frontman missed the last seven games of the campaign with a knee injury.

This season should see another hotly contested race for the much coveted Torschützenkanone with a host of the German league’s top strikers looking to have their name etched on the famous trophy alongside the likes of Gerd Müller, Karl-Heinz Rummenigge and Rudi Völler.

So here’s a look at some of the top candidates to finish the season as the Bundesliga’s goal king.

Robert Lewandowski

As Bundesliga champions Bayern hit 80 goals last season so it came as a bit of a surprise that their main striker Robert Lewandowski didn’t finish as top scorer in the league. He won the trophy in 2014 while banging in 20 goals for Dortmund and with the Bavarians likely to score a ton of goals again this year, the Pole will surely be among the frontrunners to finish as top marksman.

Bas Dost

The Dutchman’s 16 goals last season put him just three behind Alex Meier, but the remarkable thing is that Dost didn’t start a game until match day 15 but went on a hot scoring run of in 15 goals in just 14 games played (the highlight of which was four against Leverkusen).

If that form can be recreated across a whole season then he will have to be a serious contender for the top honour.

Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang

The Gabon striker was one of the bright lights in an otherwise disappointing campaign for Dortmund as he hit 16 goals for the club. Eleven of his goals came in the second half of the season and were a large factor in the resurgence of the Schwarzgelben.

Many expect Dortmund to bounce back this season and that should mean better service and more goals for Aubameyang.

Klaas-Jan Huntelaar

The 29 goals scored by Huntelaar in the 2011/12 season was the highest goals total posted since Karl-Heinz Rummenigge hit the same number in 1981 and was enough to seen him crowned top Bundesliga scorer.

The seasons following have seen the Dutchman notch up ten, twelve and nine goals respectively, so it looks like he’s in decline (much like Schalke!?). However, he retains a nose for goal and if Andre Breitenreiter gave spark the Königsblauen, then Huntelaar could profit.

Stefan Kießling

Bayer Leverkusen’s Stefan Kiessling is always there or thereabout at the end of the season when it comes to the leading goalscorer tables. He won the trophy in 2013 when his 25 goals were enough to win the Kanone.

Despite the years passing by, the 31-year-old remains the focal point of the Werkself attack and he will be looking to better his tally of nine from last season.

Thomas Müller

At 25 years of age Thomas Müller has won pretty much all there is to win with Bayern and Germany and a Torschützenkanone would add nicely to his list of achievements.

While not an out-and-out striker Müller gets his fair share of goals and has the ability to improve on a record which has seen him hit 13 goals in each of his four championship winning seasons.

Max Kruse

Mönchengladbach’s loss is Wolfsburg’s gain as Max Kruse’s exit clause in his Fohlen contract was exercised and he moved to the Volkswagen Arena. At the point of Dieter Hecking’s attacking formation he’ll expect to better the 11 goals he scored last season and could be an outside bet to challenge for the scorers award.

Josip Drmic

Swiss forward Drmic has replaced Max Kruse at Mönchengladbach and will be wanting to both benefit from the attacking verve of his new side, and improve on the six goals he scored last season. He rose to prominence while scoring at will for 1FC Nürnberg (17 in 33 games) and a return to that form is long overdue.

Arjen Robben

The Dutch maestro was only two goals behind Alex Meier last season and finished as Bayern’s joint top scorer alongside Lewandowski with 17 (his best ever figures at Bayern).

Who gets to take the Bavarian’s penalties next season could prove key to who finishes with the most goals. Last season Müller scored three, Robben two and Lewandowski one.

Alexander Meier

Last season's Fussballgott, Eintracht Frankfurt's Alex Meier.
Last season’s Fussballgott, Eintracht Frankfurt’s Alex Meier.

Nobody has won the scoring award twice in a row since Leverkusen’s Ulf Kirsten in 1997 and 1998 so the odds are stacked against Meier repeating last season’s triumph.

However, Frankfurt’s Fußballgott will be keen to show last season was no flash in the pan.

The following two tabs change content below.

Mathew Burt

A year spent living in Bremen got Mathew hooked on the Bundesliga with regular visits to the Weser Stadion getting in the way of his studies. Back in the UK now, he still keenly follows the Grün-Weißen and German football in general. Follow him on Twitter @matburt74.